real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Catching up with Reverb10!

with one comment

Came across Reverb10 the other day and love the idea of reflecting on last year and manifesting the coming one! I have been silent on this blog the last little while because my brain has been so filled with plans for the future I can’t seem to quiet it long enough to write. That and the usual business of a crazy work day at the hospital and family time! I also have a new little project , a tumblog, for capturing the fleeting special moments!

So I’m 11 days behind with this Reverb10 thing and need to do a little catching up! I’m going to try to make it short and sweet!

Day 1 One Word – one for 2010 and one for 2011

For 2010 the word is Closure. Four years and two miscarriages later, we’re done and we’re happy. Another child would have been wonderful but now I am able to see how having one child gives me the joy of being a mother and yet frees me to make a difference in the lives of many! And for 2011, Dream is the word! I am going to Dream big! I have been somewhat of an observer the last five years in my professional world: the healthcare system. And there are so many things that just make no sense! So I am dreaming big about how I can make a difference! That means having big dreams about what my dream job is. I’ve already begun to dream and 2011 will be the year to make it happen!

Day 2 Writing – What gets in the way?

Everything! I am a total procrastinator! I love the idea of writing and I often think of things to write about but when writing doesn’t come easy, which I know is true for most people, it’s so easy to find every reason you don’t have time. Especially when most days the only way I would ever have time would be to either sit down at 9pm after a very busy day or get up at 5am before the day starts. And I like my sleep so that’s no small task!

Day 3 Moment

It was earlier this year when my work day started with a call to the pediatric intensive care unit. There had a been a horrible accident and six year old girl who was to have her first day at school the next day was dying. I spent the day with her wonderful family, trying my best to help in some small way as the day unfolded upon them. It may seem strange that this day made me feel alive but when you confront death and how powerless we truly are over it, I felt a hightened awareness of my life and what is truly important.I felt such a strong desire to not waste one single second with mindlessness and complaining!

Day 4 Wonder

This year I have tried to really live the photographic life. To me that means to take every moment and think about what visually appeals about it, to find WONDER in the cracks in the sidewalk as I walk to work or the young family I drive by walking their kids to school each morning. I can’t always take a picture but I see it in my mind.

And for all you on Day 12! Wait for me! I’m coming!

 

Written by realmom

December 12, 2010 at 8:50 am

Posted in working mom

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I appreciate the poignancy of your “moment”as mine was similar — the beauty of being alive is that sense of purpose when the things happening around you are so sobering.

    Catch up if you can — or just start with today! Nice to meet you on-line.

    MDTaz

    December 12, 2010 at 9:19 am


Leave a Reply

