real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

What is my story?

with 2 comments

I decided to take a little break from blogging to read a book, well, two books. Unfortunately, I don’t have time really to blog and read! I have piles of books laying around waiting to be read, calling me every time I walk by them! The first book I started is Seth Godin‘s new book Linchpin.  I actually picked it up thinking that it might get me excited about finding a new professional path and surprisingly, it seems to be doing just the opposite! I am taking another look at my present job (primarily because financially I am no where near in a position to leave) and trying to figure out if there is a way to create some new excitement and focus to the work I do there.

The other book is A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller. I have heard that he writes about faith and I am feeling the need for a little centering which for me comes through my faith. I am a few chapters in and so far he is talking about story not faith but I am really enjoying  it. What I’m taking from it  is the idea that discontent with life comes from lack of  a good story.  For example, here I have a full time job and a family but I find myself frequently thinking about photography and blogging. Why? Because my job has lost it’s story, I know how to do it pretty well and I don’t feel inspired or challenged. I love my family and they are my greatest source of joy but maintaining the status quo at home is not enough of a story for me. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I am unhappy with my life but I do feel like I spread myself too thin in search of something and I’m trying to figure out what that something is! Maybe I need a new story, same characters, just a new plot line.

Well, need to get back to reading as my one free hour of the day is almost up!

Written by realmom

May 28, 2010 at 7:13 am

Posted in working mom

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know you probably feel like you don’t have time for it but have you thought about doing some professional photography on the side? You seem to have such a wonderful talent and could probably make some money at it!

  2. Maybe there’s something you can stop doing so that you have time and energy for the hobbies that you’re passionate about. For instance, we noticed ourselves becoming extremely addicted to tv, so now we only allow ourselves 1 hour per day. I have so much more time now that can be invested in something that rejuvenates me.

    Kelly

    May 31, 2010 at 1:11 am


Leave a Reply

