real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Back to nature in the backyard!

with 5 comments

When I first read about Backyard Mama’s carnival about connecting kids and nature I loved the idea but was a little overwhelmed about finding something to do in nature every single week. This weekend after Real Girl entertained herself in the backyard (about 30ftx30ft with no trees and a few flower beds), just wandering around collecting rocks and leaves, feeling the soft grass in her toes, I realized that connecting with nature doesn’t have to involve some elaborate outing. Connecting kids with nature is as simple as getting your kid outside and keeping the toys to a minimum. If you start early enough it seems almost instinctual that they will start digging for worms or collecting rocks. When I was a kid I always loved taking long walks in the woods with my Dad so I think it’s important to take the occasional trip away from civilization to where you can only hear, see and smell nature. But I’m relieved to realize that nature is also only a few steps away from the back door.

Written by realmom

May 6, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Posted in parenting

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Kathy — nice to find you through Backyard Mama’s carnival! You’re so right about connecting kids with nature — it can be as simple as heading out the back door to explore the backyard. My blog at Go Explore Nature is all about my adventures big & small with my two kiddos. Come on over to check out simple ways to connect with nature every day! 🙂

    Debi

    May 6, 2010 at 8:33 pm

  2. Yes That’s it- just open that backdoor and enjoy (or front door too). I am so glad that you tried this. I hope you come over and share your stories of simple explorations outside! Welcome!

    Shannon

    May 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

  3. ah, nature is a child’s best friend!

    Thanks for visiting the I Am Enough collaborative. Wishing you a good journey toward your future!

    lifeineden

    May 8, 2010 at 6:09 pm

  4. Just found your blog, Kathy and I love it!
    And congrats on your adoption journey–how exciting! I’ll keep following along and hope to see you in person again soon.
    Kathy 🙂

    Kathy Mc

    May 9, 2010 at 3:49 pm

  5. I think kids have an innate ability to just enjoy being out in green, open spaces. I know my two could entertain themselves for hours in the yard if I let them. What a cool carnival!

    Kelly

    May 11, 2010 at 12:15 am


Leave a Reply

