real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

One great guy, and that’s no April Fools!

with 3 comments

A few months back I discovered The Husband Project over at Tasra Mar’s amazing site, which is a book by Kathi Lipp about focusing on the hubby’s good side. I love this idea because after 7 years of marriage, there’s still alot of love but, well, it’s often buried beneath the trenches of life!

I will admit since I started this blog with the intention of being real I am frequently tempted to air my frustrations with the hubby in a post but I realize that might cause  a quick deterioration in the state of our marriage! I think it might be best not to have a written record of the “disagreements” that seem eventually  forgotten. So I’ve decided to write regularly about the great things about my husband. I do need to preface this by making clear that he is by no means a saint(I think he would agree with that) and our marriage is far from blissful(he would agree with that too!) Maybe if I spend a little time each week focusing on the good stuff then the not so good stuff will fade more quickly. The glass will be half full instead of half empty! So please join me on Hubby Humpday (don’t want anyone to get the wrong idea!) Thankful Thursdays and celebrate the one you choose to love! I’d do a McLinky thing but I don’t think I can with wordpress:(

I’m going to start now even though it’s Saturday before I forget the good stuff from the past week!

We had a bit of a tragic week in little Rhody(Rhode Island) with record levels of rain and flooding in many of our communities, ours included. Thankfully we made it through without any water damage but three streets from us they were not so lucky. On Tuesday evening around 6:30pm the power went out so the Hubby decided it would be a fun adventure to drive around the neighborhood and see what was happening. He had seen the baseball field at the bottom our street earlier and the bleachers were half covered in water. So off we went, me with images of flash flooding and floating away in our car!  It was just surreal. We drove past the baseball field which had about six feet of water on it but was set low enough that the houses around it were not affected. But as we rounded the corner heading back to our house I looked down a side street and saw a house with two cars in the drive way with water up to the windowsills! We drove back to our house a little more effected than we even realized. Once we got home Real Girl started acting up and I was getting really frustrated when I realized  she was worried about all this water. As soon as I reassured her that the water was not going to come to our house she settled right down! Three year olds are so much more observant than we give them credit for.

So your probably wondering where the praise of the Hubby is in all this! Well, the next day I got an email at work that our pastor had sent out asking for help with the few inches of water in the basement of our little church. I texted my husband to see if he got the message and could help out. Well, he texted back that he had already been there an hour! He spent five hours that day with his dry vac and a couple other guys emptying the basement! And he didn’t complain once about it when he got home. That is one thing I do love about him, he is always willing to lend a hand even when it involves hard work. He has a very generous heart!

Written by realmom

April 3, 2010 at 8:49 am

Posted in gratitude, marriage

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He’s my hero too. I am snow birding in Florida at present and he drove across the state (7 miles in Rhody is considered that) to check out my house. I live in the “ninth ward” where all the floods you see on TV are. Called my cell phone as he walked through and gave a running commentary on the state of things which added to the suspense. – “just going into the 1st room (pause) no water – moving into the boiler room – (pause) – no water” etc etc it was hilarious too LOL (sorry – maybe you do not use LOLs in blogs). Anyway I was so relieved to hear I have no water damage so can enjoy the rest of my stay with no worries. If you read this – thanks a million Real Dad!

    Real Mom's Mom

    April 4, 2010 at 7:26 am

  2. Good to know that at least someone in our little state didn’t suffer any damage – we lost the flooring in every room of our finished basement apartment, and had to cap off a shower drain that had turned into a fountain, but we had hardly any damage to the inside walls. My dad’s basement fared worse; he’s been waking up to at least 9″ of water in his basement every morning.

    We didn’t do much driving around, I took some pictures of the Pawtuxet near my house (I live in Coventry, near its south branch), but driving through Providence Street in West Warwick was like driving through a war zone.

    Crystal

    April 4, 2010 at 11:33 am

  3. So glad you guys didn’t have damage. Go hug your husband again for being such a great guy!

    Kelly

    April 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm


Leave a Reply

