real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

A simple Sunday supper.

leave a comment »

This is the first in a new series of posts about suppertime as a working mom! I am tired of reading all these great recipes out there and then just feeling guilty that I can never get organized enough to get them on the table. So for all you mom’s out there like me,  I am calling for a revolution! Here’s to providing great nutrition with the least amount of fuss and NOT feeling guilty about it!  I will proudly post my daily adventures in getting home at 5:30 and getting supper on the table by 6pm. The only rules are fast and nutritious!

So Sunday was a rough one. The hubby and I went out for the first time in a long time on Saturday night and I forgot that I can no longer function on less than 7 hours of sleep.  I spent most of Sunday waiting to go to bed.  I managed to do a few loads of laundry, empty the dishwasher, put a few things away and keep Real Girl out of trouble. Suppertime snuck up on me just as I had found a little quiet moment. I was completely unprepared. Nothing defrosted and little to excite the gullet in the fridge(never made it to the grocery store!) So I remembered my mantra “dairy, fruit, veg, protein and whole grain” and got to work.

Mini pizzas: shredded mozzarella, large sandwich rolls

broccoli

apples, sliced

leftover Nanny’s chicken

I’m sure you don’t need me to provide any prep explanation! I do have to add that when I announced to Real Girl my plan for supper she said, “but mom, can’t we go to a restaurant!” So much for guilt free!

Please share your adventures with the dinner hour!

Written by realmom

March 29, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Leave a Reply

