real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

“There are words I really must say to myself” Katherine Center

with 2 comments

Not long after I posted about the letter I sent to myself I discovered a new project by Tracey Clark (I love all her projects!), “I am enough” a self kindness collaborative.  And today there is a wonderful post by Katherine Center, whose photo essay for Mom 2.0 made me cry(I sent it to all the moms I know). She came up with the amazing idea of writing words on someone and talks about the importance of saying kind things to ourselves. Me saying kind things to myself. You saying kind things to yourself. I might have thought this was a little strange or breezed over the idea if I hadn’t recently had the profound experience of receiving a letter full of kind words from myself.

As women most of the messages we get from the world around us are negative. We’re not thin enough, stylish enough, funny enough, smart enough: I could go on and on. As a counselor, I have worked with one to many young girls whose primary struggle was lack of self-esteem. I have spent many quiet moments soothing my daughter to sleep wondering how do I give her self-esteem. A sense of self-esteem seems far more important than cute clothes, trips to the zoo and even a million dollar education.

I think our children gain self-esteem not only from the messages we give them but maybe more so from the messages they hear us give ourselves. How can my daughter believe in herself if I don’t show her I believe in myself? If I want her to be a strong woman, who isn’t desperate for the approval of others, then I can’t just tell her she is wonderful and strong(which she is!) I have to show her that I know from with in me that I am enough.

Thank you Tracey Clark and Katherine Center for using your online “fame” not to sell refrigerators (which by the way I would probably do if someone asked me) but to remind us to be kind to ourselves!

Written by realmom

March 24, 2010 at 4:22 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hooray! I’m so glad you liked the post! And I love the idea of sending a letter to yourself. Brilliant!!

    Katherine Center

    March 24, 2010 at 11:33 pm

  2. I’m thrilled you are walking this talk, the more of us who fight through our insecurities by owning them and come to roll with the way we are the more we heal through consciousness and serve all our kids. I love this.

    privilegeofparenting

    March 30, 2010 at 4:44 pm


Leave a Reply

