real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Derailed by a bloody nose!

with 3 comments

Is it time for bed?

Does this ever happen to you? You have big plans and then something you have no control over just derails all your plans! Well, I can cope with that once in a while but I am now heading into my second weekend derailed! You see I am not much good without sleep and last weekend as about 2am Friday night, Real Girl woke up with a bad cold. I think her was just all stuffed and she was just a sorry little soul. I love crawling into bed with her but she didn’t go back to sleep for two hours! And then she woke up at 6:30am! So both she and I were exhausted. I don’t know about you but working outside the home Monday through Friday, I usually have about five million things on the agenda for the weekend. And last weekend there was piles of laundry, a birthday party, and a church dinner, most of which I stumbled through like a zombie. Real Girl and I were not to happy with each other either. My patients wears pretty thin with no sleep. And her skill at whining, well, let’s just say if there was an Olympic event she would get the Gold!

One weekend  a month I can manage but last night at 3am she woke up with a bloody nose (same cold lingering). At first she didn’t even know she had a bloody nose and while I went to get a wash cloth she seemed to fall back to sleep in the middle of her bloody sheets. I was tempted to just leave her. The sheets were already bloody and her nose had stopped bleeding. I should have just went back to bed but no, I had to be a good mom and make sure her nose had stopped bleeding. When I dabbed it with the tissue she woke up and started to cry:( I was sad for her and for me because I knew this was going to change the weekend for us both! I cleaned her up and changed her sheets, put her back to bed and crawled in with her. She begged me to tell her stories “from my mouth” so I went through the three little pigs, the three bears, and sleeping beauty all the while praying they would lull her to sleep. No luck. She and I laid awake until about 4:30.

It’s 8am now and she is still sleeping so I think at least she will be her usual wonderful self with lots of energy, ready for dance class and a play date. I, on the other hand, did not sleep that well in her little twin bed  and woke at 6:30 exhausted and feeling derailed. It’s a beautiful sunny morning and instead of being ready to run the marathon of laundry, groceries, cleaning and making up for all the time I didn’t spend with Real Girl during the week, I want to go back to bed. Sounds like a good excuse to head to Starbucks and forget the laundry and the groceries! Ok, so maybe it’s not so bad to be derailed!

What derails you and how do you get back on track?

Written by realmom

March 20, 2010 at 8:17 am

Posted in parenting

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yikes. We rarely have to deal with late nights/early mornings, but when we do, it’s definitely an act of Congress to get back on track.

    I hope you power through and wind up having a great weekend.

    Kelly

    March 20, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    • Well, somehow I survived! Feel like I’ve been in a bit of a cloud all day but made it through dinner and then got a sitter so I could spend a little time on my own. Hubby might join me later. Hey thanks for reading and commenting. I try not to care if someone is reading but really I do. And just one comment makes me feel good about making to time to post! I have to get better at doing for others!

      realmom

      March 20, 2010 at 6:28 pm

  2. I think you are a wonderful and courageous “Real Working Mom.” I love knowing what “Real Girl” is up to, (even in the middle of the night, all night long) because opportunities to feel like a “Real Oma” don’t come often enough, living so far away. Bless your efforts to post “real life” for me and the world. You, Real Working Mom are a gift to me. Thanks for sharing your life in this way. with love…

    Oma

    March 21, 2010 at 8:55 pm


Leave a Reply

