real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Let go of all that is not yours to hold on to!

with 3 comments

Back when mothering was brand new!

Back in November I went to a wonderful workshop with Erin Goodman of Exhale, Return to Center. It was a mini retreat for moms. And we needed it! A little yoga, a little tea, a little sharing, a little eating, and a little chocolate! Well towards the end of the retreat Erin asked us to write a letter to ourselves, which she kept and posted to us in January. It was quite strange to get a letter addressed to me in my own handwriting.  Well, it was even stranger to read the words, none of which I remember writing.

There is so much to distract you from the riches before you. You are a vessel of God and capable of great love, patience, and compassion. You are good enough for the universe so stop trying so hard. Keep your focus, fight for it and share it with Real Girl so she might grow to be free from all the world will demand.

Be gentle with yourself. Give yourself time to stop and be all that you were made to be and take in all that you have.

Be grateful. Look for the beauty around you. Help those who have been placed in your path to see the light that shines all around us. You are strong enough.

And let go of all that is not yours to hold on to!

So to all my old mom friends and all my new mom friends from the blogosphere, these words are for you too! And thank you to Erin Goodman for creating a space for this mom to stop long enough and listen.

Written by realmom

March 12, 2010 at 6:36 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, what powerful words. I’ll take them to heart.

    Kelly

    March 12, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  2. Thank you for those words. It’s so true, a wonderful sentiment.

    Mama Murtz

    March 13, 2010 at 4:22 pm

  3. […] Katherine Center Posted on March 24, 2010 by realmom Not long after I posted about the letter I sent to myself I discovered a new project by Tracey Clark (I love all her projects!), “I am […]


Leave a Reply

