real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

A 3yo visits the art museum and….

with 3 comments

She made me proud! On the drive in to the RISD (Rhode Island School of Design) Museum I pointed out a very large pile of iron shaped like orange slices piled on top of each other. “Look”, I said very enthusiastically, “that’s called a S C U L P T U R E!” She looked at it thoughtfully and said “Oh.”

We parked the car and made our way in and when we entered the glass doors, she ran over to a 6 foot tall piece of glass looking a little like a headless woman and said “Look, Mommy, a sculpture!!!” We proceeded to have a very interesting conversation about the large bottle/headless woman while I beamed and smiled proudly at all the patrons passing by.

Look, Mama, a dance floor!

Her amazement and enthusiasm only lasted for about 10 minutes but it was fascinating to see which pieces would catch her attention and which she would just pass by. I think she was mostly impressed with the size of the paintings and very disappointed when I almost tackled her informed her she couldn’t touch them! But those moments when she seemed to enjoy and even appreciate the pieces I just felt, well, joy! And I’m not even really a huge fan of art.

I have a few of the expected coffee table books. Monet. Vangough. I get to the museum about once every couple of years and, honestly, I think what I enjoy the most is roaming the vast rooms in silence. Once I went to a Monet show at the MFA in Boston and, while the paintings were amazing, the crowd left me feeling like a cow being led into the milking barn!

So why was I so moved by my kid liking the art? I think it just made me really realize that I am teaching her about life(and art) and I’m doing a pretty good job! Of course we ended in a throw down in the “exploration” room where those dumb** art people put permanent markers out for the kids to draw with!  **Just kidding about the dumb part for all you art people. We really had a wonderful time and truly thank you for working for way too little so we can have a little joy!!!

Written by realmom

February 28, 2010 at 7:54 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a wonderful experience for your both. I don’t have the nerve to attempt it with my will-be-3-in-April-er, but I probably should. My 9 yo begs to go to the art museum a few times each year. We go alone so he can spend as much time as he likes sketching and staring. It’s one of the coolest bonding experiences!

    Kelly

    February 28, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  2. that is awesome!

    Does your city have a Children’s Museum? We have one here, and it’s great because the kids CAN touch everything, they get to be creative and play and learn about art and science in a very “kid” way.

    Mandy

    March 2, 2010 at 11:04 am

  3. […] Maybe your three year old would enjoy a trip to RISD. Here’s one success story! […]


Leave a Reply

