real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

What would you do with four days all to yourself?

with 3 comments

Yeah that’s right. Somehow I found myself alone in my house for the first time in almost four years! Leading up to the absence of my family I had all kinds of plans for my solitude! Sleep, blogging, yoga, more blogging, cleaning out my rss reader, more sleeping! When it was over I was surprised by what I loved and didn’t  love about being alone!

Actually, I wasn’t entirely alone. Otis, my furry child, was home. We were both surprised by how quiet the house was. The first day I came home from work and enjoyed the silence. Usually there would be the hustle of making dinner and then bath time.   In the quiet, it seemed Otis decided he was the man of the house and started barking at every little noise, most of which came from our steam heat  which clangs and bangs every so often. I had to turn the TV on to get him to quiet down.

The first evening I spent the entire time on the internet. Ahhh, sad to say but I long for uninterrupted time to read my feeds and write (or at least think about writing) posts!  So that’s what I did. 6pm to 11pm. Of course I found every excuse not to  post and went to bed planning to get up early and WRITE A POST! I have to say at night I was awfully glad to have Otis’ company. Our king size bed felt very empty.  Falling asleep in silence was tough as I usually have the sound of the TV coming from downstairs where my DH has fallen asleep on the couch. In the morning I finally published a post and after that the time went by very quickly. I won’t bore you with the details as it digressed into watching TV. It’s also been a while since I could watch whatever and whenever I wanted, at least on the big TV in front of the cozy couch!

So you may be wondering, did I miss my adorable three year old and her dear father? Well, of course. But I have to admit not as much as I thought I would. Should I feel guilty about that? Do I feel guilty about that? No! It doesn’t mean I love them any less. The fact is I really liked the quiet. No complaints or demands. No whining. No expectations.   And no sense of rush. Normally if I find a quiet moment I feel this pressure that the clock is ticking so I better hurry at whatever I am doing before the moment ends with some interruption.  In the quiet I could hear my voice. It was like seeing an old friend again after a very long absence.

Now that I have reunited with my old friend me, I am not about to say goodbye and we have made plans to meet up regularly. Guilt is not invited. Once a month I am going to take a day, a full day, and spend it in a quiet place listening to my own voice. And Guilt, if your listening, it will probably make me a better mother and wife!

What would you do with four days all to yourself?

If you want to read more about the battle against guilt check out a great blog  Working Moms Against Guilt

Page 55 of Bird by Bird, “All you can give us is what life is about from your point of view.”

Plot is the main point of your story. Every blog post is a story, however short or long you create it. What is the point of this post?

Write a post with a clear plot- the point in which you are trying to make.

Written by realmom

January 30, 2010 at 10:52 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My #1 fantasy is that my dear husband will take himself and our two wonderful children away for at least a weekend. It’s great to get out alone (which I’m able to do), but it’s so much more luxurious to be at home, in comfy clothes, doing lazy activities, without all the demands of Home. I understand completely!

    Kelly

    February 1, 2010 at 1:48 pm

  2. What a lovely stretch of time. 🙂 I love it when my old friend and I get a chance to spend time together, too.

    Jenny

    February 3, 2010 at 8:56 pm

  3. Hmm…I can’t even imagine what I would do with that much time on my own. So glad you enjoyed your time 🙂

    Alana

    February 8, 2010 at 2:33 am


Leave a Reply

