real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Mommy, are you gonna die?

with 3 comments

We’re driving home from daycare. It’s dusk and she is quiet from a full day without a nap.

“Momma, is Nanna old?”

“Well, sort of?”

“Her skin is wrinkly. I think she is old.” Pause. “Is she going to die?”

Long pause.

“Everyone dies someday but that won’t be for a long, long time.”

“But I will miss her” I see her lip quivering in the rear view mirror.

“Don’t worry, she is going to be around for a long time!”

She says “I miss Granny Peggy.”

Granny Peggy is my grandmother who died long before she was born. I’ve told her stories about Granny Peggy because that’s who she’s named after.

“How can you miss her? You never met her”

“Yes I did. Before I was born, when I was still with Jesus”

OK, starting to get a little weirded out!

“What do you mean?”

“I went to her house”

“You went to her house in Heaven?”

Change of tone. “Where is Heaven, Mom?” before I can answer ” That’s just the sky!”

I laugh quietly to myself in disbelief that I am having this conversation with a three year old!

I try my best:”Well, remember God is all around us.”

Pause.

“Mommy, are you gonna  die?”

“Not for a long, long time, Sweet pea.”

As the tears well in her eyes “Mommy, I will miss you!”

“We will always be together, sweetie, no matter what!” as I brush away my own tears before she can see them.

This post is for {W}rite-of-Passage, a weekly challenge to write well

Written by realmom

January 27, 2010 at 8:16 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Out of the mouths of babes. How is it these little people can fill us with such awe?

    Kelly

    January 27, 2010 at 2:35 pm

  2. Hi.

    What a child. This conversation evokes emotions.

    Ocean Girl

    January 29, 2010 at 6:01 am

  3. Oh I love it. I have actually had similar conversations with my daughter (almost five) and it is such a difficult concept to hash out. I love your answer that God is all around us and not just up in the sky though. So true.
    Your writing is great and your dialogue is well-written and emotional. You kept the reader interested and reading and this is always a good thing! Glad to have found your blog!

    Natalie at Mommy on Fire

    January 29, 2010 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

