real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Up to early!

with 3 comments

My eyes open. It’s dark. Is it 2am or 6am? Blink. Blink. Then I hear what woke me. A quiet cough. I am still. Listening. Cough again. 6:37 says the clock. Still.  My mind wakes and starts to run:

Please don’t wake up now! Not only will I miss my me time, that quiet hour before you wake but  the rest of the day you will be cranky and refuse a nap as you always do.  What is wrong with me? I should be worrying about that cough. Why are you coughing? We’re going on vacation in three days. Please don’t be sick. Maybe if I just lie still you will go back to sleep.

Silent. Cough. Very sleepy “Momma”. I go to her to preserve the morning quiet. Outstretched arms. “Do you want to come sleep in Momma’s bed?” “I’m hungry”.

And so the day begins.

This post is for {W}rite-of-Passage, a weekly challenge to write well.

Anne Lamott tells us, “Listen to your broccoli, and your broccoli will tell you how to eat it.”  She’s referring to that inner voice that we hardly ever hear anymore.    Today, take a few minutes to be still and quiet. Listen to your inner voice and write what she/he says. That’s it. Whatever it is that’s in there, let it out.

Written by realmom

January 23, 2010 at 8:23 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, I found you on {W}rite of Passage.

    I love this, and I can totally relate! You really captured the moment, thanks for sharing.

    bubbleboo

    January 23, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  2. I do the exact same thing. Tip toe around, keep the ringers turned off, buffer all sounds of the neighborhood waking up, and then cringe because inevitably something random happens to slowly pull her out of sleep. And from there we’re off to the races.

    Kelly

    January 23, 2010 at 4:24 pm

  3. I so get this post!! ESPECIALLY when my children were small! and those unexpected interruptions took the only time I had!

    debbie

    January 24, 2010 at 9:07 pm


Leave a Reply

