real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Realizing my good fortune.

with 2 comments

Today over at Mother May I Tracy Clark asks “What good fortune have you come across lately?”.  Funny she should ask because I started the day keenly aware of my good fortune. So much so it led to an argument between my husband and I.  He was stomping around about something trivial (in my opinion!) so I got on my soapbox and let him have it. You see I have spent the week at work ( I work at  a hospital) with parents who are most likely going to lose their small child.  When I am involved in cases like this, which thankfully is rare, I feel a profound sense of gratitude. I really can’t say more because these moments are not really mine to put in words.

But sadly, it does not take much to make us forget as you can see from my last post. By midmorning I was having a pitty party about my blog and missing all I have to be grateful for (namely my daughter’s beautiful laugh and smile!) while I followed the tweets! Thankfully the tweets led me to Tracy Clark’s question.

What is my good fortune? I wake in the morning in a beautiful warm home with a peace that comes from knowing that all those I love are at most a phone call away. I am usually greeted with the sleepy smile of a small person whose greatest joy is hugging me! What more could I really want? So thank you Tracy for turning me back to my good fortune!

Written by realmom

January 9, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Posted in gratitude, parenting

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. isn’t it amazing how just by changing our perspective and looking through the lens of gratitude how everything looks better? I’m trying to do more of that in 2010!
    thanks for this! : )

    traceyclark

    January 9, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    • thanks so much for the comment! I have been following shuttersisters and you for sometime. You and the sisters are a regular source of inspiration and help keep my love for photography alive!

      Kathy

      January 10, 2010 at 8:55 pm


Leave a Reply

