real mom real life

capturing the extrordinary moments in ordinary life

Just started new blog and stuck already! Help!

with 4 comments

 Only three posts and one week in and I’m already wondering if I really have anything to say that other moms would want to read? Out of all the thousands of blogs out there, how could mine possibly stand out? Am I just writing for myself and if so is that enough? I keep watching the stats as they lay flat across the bottom of the graph. I’m twittering like crazy and trying to comment on others blogs (hard to do when you have about an hour a day to yourself to sit at the computer.) and no comments or visits.    

  It doesn’t help that, even though I have always dreamed of writing a play or a novel, the actual writing is very difficult. I find every reason to avoid writing and having the Internet one click away doesn’t help. I come up with little ideas but then think of all the reasons no one would want to read about them! So I’m hoping all you out there will help me! Please let me know if what I’ve got so far sucks or if I should hang in there! I know there is alot to read out there but even a quick hello would make all the difference.   Most of you whose blogs I read (I have collected over 200 blogs in my reader over the past year!) seem to have found a way to make this blogging your work. My challenge is that I have a 9 to 5 job  and a preschooler which leaves me about 2hours in the day to myself if I’m lucky. I have to cram posting, reading, exercise, shopping and the occasional TV show into that time. During my work day I am on my iphone in between meetings and paperwork following the tweets, trying to make friends! There are so many talented, creative, thoughtful women out there and I love reading about your lives!      On good days I’m pretty confident that I have something to contribute. I’ve learned alot counseling parents and kids over the last 20 years and I know I’m a pretty good mom. I have some deep thoughts about life and God. We’ve been riding the fertility rollercoaster for the last two years with the clock ticking away(I’m 42). And the work I do (I work with kids hospitalized for various reasons, both acute and chronic) puts me in some very sad but real moments most days. So if you visit please leave a little encouragement or advice and come back again and see how I’m doing!      

 

Written by realmom

January 8, 2010 at 9:41 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been blogging since 2001. At times I had hundreds of visitors, now I have only a handful. (Password protecting my blog for a few years didn’t help my stats much) 🙂 Ultimately, if you want to blog, make sure you do it for yourself. Make it want you want and don’t care about what other people are or aren’t interested in reading.

    I like venting, posting updates about our lives (reviewing iPhone apps, my addiction). I like going back and seeing what life was like a month ago, a year ago, etc. It’s also nice to read that other people do the same things and go through the same things I do. So even if, yeah, a post idea has been done before – your take on it will probably not be exactly the same as someone else’s. And even if it is – from a reader’s standpoint, it’s nice to see you’re not alone.

    Anyway, that’s my $.02 Do it for yourself… otherwise it probably will be more a source of frustration than enjoyment.

    Jennifer

    January 9, 2010 at 11:01 am

    • Thank you soooo much! For the most part I am totally going to do this for myself but it makes some differenceto feel like your part of the blogging community out there! Honestly even if your the only comment I get today I am so grateful and so elated! I really appreciate your words of advice! And I have read your reviews of iphone apps! Sadly I love my iphone almost as much as my husband so always looking for new apps!

      realmom

      January 9, 2010 at 12:55 pm

  2. Blogging can be a long, lonely road. But then someone you don’t know will surprise you and comment on a post and sometimes that’s enough to keep you going.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog – and curious…how did I end up in your reader? I’m new to blogging also and am not even sure what a reader is…

    Thanks,
    Rachel

    6512 and growing

    January 16, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    • You are so right! Thanks for the comment and the encouragement. I’m not sure how you found your way to my Google reader either! But glad you did! I put you there but just dont remember when or how I found your blog. I do love to read about moms in different parts of the country. I see you have an RSS feed link on your site so you probably refer to “reader” by some other name. I use google reader and feeddemon. I love it because it automatically collects new posts from blogs I want to follow. Problem is most of the time I have about 1000 unread posts to catch up on. Thanks again for reading! I’m sure I’ll visit you again!

      realmom

      January 17, 2010 at 9:22 am


Leave a Reply

